NMPA EVP/GC Danielle Aguirre Honored By Billboard’s Women In Music As An Executive Of The Year

December 7, 2018

For Immediate Release: December 6, 2018
Media Contact: Charlotte Sellmyer

New York City – Tonight at the annual Billboard Women in Music event in Manhattan, NMPA EVP & General Counsel, Danielle Aguirre was honored as an Executive of the Year along with Dina LaPolt, Susan Genco and Jacqueline Charlesworth for their work on the Music Modernization Act (MMA) which was signed into law last October.

Aguirre was a leader in the industry effort to secure the groundbreaking bill’s passage. She is the first trade association executive to receive this honor. Past executives of the year include UMPG’s Jody Gerson and Capitol Records’ Julie Greenwald.

NMPA President & CEO David Israelite congratulated Danielle saying, “this formidable group of women deserves the highest praise. In her first major legislative effort, Danielle spent countless hours with members of Congress and their staffs in dozens of meetings over the last year to find compromise and advocate for music creators. She was undaunted by roadblocks throughout the process and she skillfully made deals that kept critical provisions in place while keeping the coalition together.

“Songwriters, artists, steaming services and the people who use them all owe her a great deal, and I am thrilled to see Danielle and her peers honored as Executives of the Year for achieving what no one thought possible.”

Dina LaPolt, calling Danielle the “quarterback of the bill” in an acceptance speech, remarked that “when great women come together, even greater things happen.”

“It’s difficult to convey what a herculean task Danielle Aguirre, Dina LaPolt, Jacqueline Charlesworth, and Susan Genco accomplished by seeing through the Music Modernization Act,” Ross Scarano, Billboard’s vp content said. “This is a watershed piece of legislation for the recording industry, and without our Executives of the Year, it would not have made it into the law books this past October.”

The profile of the executives can be found here: https://www.billboard.com/articles/events/women-in-music/8488600/billboard-women-in-music-executives-of-the-year-2018

They were honored at the event along with Ariana Grande (Woman of the Year), SZA (Rule Breaker Award), Cyndi Lauper (Icon Award), Janelle Monàe (Trailblazer Award) and more. Ellie Goulding hosted this year’s event.