NMPA Announces Richard Marx as 2011 Icon Award Honoree

May 19, 2011


WASHINGTON—The National Music Publishers’ Association (NMPA) will honor GRAMMY-winning multi-platinum artist, producer and songwriter Richard Marx with the 2011 Songwriter Icon Award at the NMPA’s Annual Meeting in New York City June 15.

“The NMPA is delighted to honor one of the most successful singer-songwriters of the past quarter century, Richard Marx, with the 2011 Songwriter Icon Award,” said NMPA President and CEO David Israelite. “From his numerous awards and accolades, including a Song of the Year GRAMMY, to his extensive work with various philanthropic activities, Marx represents truly the best of the best in our industry.”

In addition to selling more than 30 million records and releasing four consecutive multi-platinum albums as a solo artist, Marx has achieved great success writing and producing songs for some of the biggest names in music, and to date has written thirteen #1 songs.

Marx released his first single, “Don’t Mean Nothing,” and launched his career with his self-titled album in 1987.  In 1989, he released his sophomore album, “Repeat Offender,” which sold over 7 million copies worldwide.  From 1987-1990, Marx became the first, and remains the only, male solo artist in history to have his first seven singles reach the top five on the Billboard chart, including three No.1 hits “Hold On to the Nights,” “Satisfied” and “Right Here Waiting.”

Throughout his career, Marx has worked with popular and varied acts, writing and producing hits for *NSYNC, Barbara Streisand, Josh Groban, Keith Urban, Vince Gill, Luther Vandross, Kenny Rogers, Travis Tritt, Paulina Rubio, Daughtry, Natalie Cole, Lifehouse,  and many more.  In 2004, he won the Song of the Year GRAMMY for “Dance With My Father,” which he co-wrote with the late Luther Vandross.  Still actively touring, Richard was asked to join “Ringo Starr’s All-Star Band” for their 2006 North American tour.  In 2008, he formed a duo with Matt Scannell from Vertical Horizon and together they toured and released a CD, “Duo.”

In addition to his contributions to popular music, Marx has spent his entire career giving back through his involvement with many different charitable organizations.  He donated the royalties from his 1987 single “Should’ve Known Better” to help build a room at the NYU Medical Center for pediatric cancer patients.  He wrote and recorded the song “Children of the Night,” donating the royalties to the Children of the Night Foundation, which is dedicated to helping homeless children.  In addition to performing scores of benefit concerts for organizations like the Special Olympics and the Make a Wish Foundation as well as for US troops stationed abroad, Marx hosts annual events for the Ronald McDonald House Charities and the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation.

The Icon Award recognizes outstanding songwriters for personal achievement and who personify the vision of NMPA and the goals of its members. Former recipients include Diane Warren, Kara DioGuardi, Amy Lee, Neil Sedaka and Jimmy Webb.

The NMPA Annual Meeting will be held June 15 from 4-6 p.m. at the Marriott Marquis Hotel, 1535 Broadway, followed by a cocktail reception. Members of the media are invited to both the meeting and reception.

Media: Gayle Osterberg at gayle@133publicaffairs.com or (202) 548-0133 or Jamie Marotta at jmarotta@nmpa.org.

About the NMPA
Founded in 1917, the National Music Publishers’ Association (NMPA) is the trade association representing American music publishers and their songwriting partners. The NMPA’s mandate is to protect and advance the interests of music publishers and songwriters in matters relating to the domestic and global protection of music copyrights.

About the Songwriter Icon Award
The National Music Publishers’ Association (NMPA) established the Songwriter Icon Award in 2006 to recognize outstanding songwriters for personal achievement and who personify the vision of NMPA and the goals of its members. Past recipients include Kara DioGuardi, Amy Lee, Neil Sedaka and Jimmy Webb.