NMPA Announces 2018 Annual Meeting Honorees

May 7, 2018

For Immediate Release: May 7, 2018
Media Contact: Charlotte Sellmyer

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The National Music Publishers’ Association (NMPA) today announced the honorees and keynote speaker for its annual meeting in Manhattan on June 13, 2018.

NMPA’s annual event brings together the entire music industry each spring to celebrate music creators and discuss the most relevant issues affecting the industry. In addition to performances, NMPA honors outstanding songwriters, advocates and NMPA President & CEO David Israelite gives his State of the Industry Address.

This year’s keynote will be presented by United States Department of Justice (DOJ) Assistant Attorney General for the Antitrust Division, Makan Delrahim.

The Lifetime Service Award will be given to publishing legend Caroline Bienstock to celebrate her invaluable contributions as the President & CEO of Carlin America as well as her role on the NMPA board.

Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI) will be honored with the President’s Award for his dedication to helping songwriters and his work on reforming music copyright law in Congress, including his support for the Music Modernization Act.

Nashville Songwriter Association International (NSAI) Executive Director Bart Herbison will be given the Industry Legacy Award. Mr. Herbison is renowned as a champion for songwriters in Nashville and on Capitol Hill, and has worked tirelessly to give music creators the fair compensation they deserve.

The meeting with will be kicked off by phenomenal singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Victoria Canal.

“Caroline Bienstock, Senator Whitehouse and Bart Herbison could not be more deserving of NMPA’s top honors. The music industry is in a better place because of their tireless efforts to protect and enhance the rights of music creators, and we are proud to recognize them for their achievements,” said David Israelite.

The NMPA annual meeting will take place at the Edison Ballroom in New York City. The previously announced Songwriter Icon Award will be presented to Grammy-winning, multi-platinum songwriter, producer, arranger and musician Alicia Keys.